Daily Prompt – Bedtime

Bedtime—As I sit in the Detroit airport waiting for my next flight I decided that I should finish this post from a few days ago….

While traveling for work, I often have trouble sleeping.  Partly because of time changes but also because there are so many things I want to do!  Blog, photography, exercise, watch interesting programs, prepare for work tomorrow, call my family, prepare for next week/month, think about my career, enjoy music, meditation/mindfullness (obviously need more work with mindfullness)……and the list goes on.  I want to do them all!!  It’s sort of like analysis paralysis, except I have acted on some of these things.

In addition, the rooms are often not regulated well for temperature so the covers go on, the covers go off.

I also believe I am subconsciously worried that I will over sleep so my mind keeps waking up.

In addition, I often dream about my former job and former boss.  You see, I had incredible experiences over 14 years with my last company.  They were hard and stressful years but very rewarding to see products get developed or get fixed all while seeing leaders develop.  I miss how it was….tremendously.  My wife still works there and I believe the place has changed.  Disappointing, Don’t get me wrong, change can be good.  But, when you find something you like doing, why does it need to change?

My new role brings many perks including higher pay and more time off of work.  The ability to turn it off and not feel bad.  The ability to see new companies and to network.  It does require I spend 12 days a month not sleeping in my own bed, but over all it has many things I like about it.  So why do I keep dreaming about the old job?  I’ll I ever stop dreaming about it?  Is the dreaming related to why I don’t sleep well?

So what do I need to do to sleep better, to feel rested, to feel as if I have slept soundly for a year?

Can anyone help?

Bedtime

About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Daily Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

