May 2016 Experiments

April was even more challenging than March and I seemed to have slipped on quite a few categories that I was hoping to improve in.  Why is this?  Is it that these really aren’t my passions?  Maybe it’s just too many interests or goals?  Or is it that I lack support or simply lack motivation?  I am finding that it is easier to focus on thinking, writing and photography than it is to focus on health and fitness.  I also am finding that for health and fitness I don’t have anyone to hold me accountable…..someone that wants the same results.  In addition…(an excuse I know) but I want to spend time with my family and some of these items are difficult to execute when I am with my family.  So I will add a pushup and situp challenge.  These can be done anywhere even while watching TV.  Alissa and I started this while in England, but stopped doing this.  Defined abs, arms and chest are really what I want so these should definitely get me started.

I would love to hear your thoughts about my experiments.

Family & Friends:

  • 1 Date night per week with my wife– Fail…no excuse for this.
  • Go see Grandma 1x per month – Complete
  • Call Parents weekly – Complete
  • Visit Parents at least 1x monthly – Complete
  • Call sister 1x monthly – Fail
  • Close friends – reach out at least monthly – Fail

Music:

  • Learn 5 Campfire Songs with acoustic guitar – Complete…Margaritaville, Good Riddance, Stand By Me, If I had a million Dollars, Collide
  • Complete 1 new “Capture Session” of a full song with vocals – Fail

Photography:

  • One photo posted per week – Complete – 7 Photos posted to IG…but not on a regular basis.
  • Purchase transition filters – Fail, I need to get a telephoto lens first.
  • Understand the “Behance” site and “SmugMug” site – Fail, I haven’t taken the time to explore these.

Health & Fitness:

  • 520X  (5 Items, 20 Reps) or Random SworkIt Program 5x per week
    • 20 Jumping Jacks, 20 Situps, 20 Pushups, 20 Squats, 20 Knee Highs   – Fail – I have found more enjoyment in biking and haven’t taken the time to do 520x
  • 0-100Pushup/0-200 Situp Challenge   10min per day….3 days per week….10 weeks   – Fail – Just have been too lazy and/or distracted by basement.
  • Run/Elliptical/Bike/Blade 1x per week for 30 minutes – Complete – This was successful in that I biked twice to high cliff, once around Sherwood and I also roller bladed once.
  • I will also drink 32oz of water a day  (4-8oz glasses or 2 bottles of water) – Fail – I have found this to be easier when I am working.

Capture:

  • Continue with an average of one blog post weekly on Mondays – Complete, although they are sporadic.
  • Do one daily prompt weekly on Fridays – Fail and I lost interest in this.
About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Experiments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

