Day 11 – Defining Your Change

I give myself permission to:

  1. Research and Experiment to find work that energizes me and allows me to provide great opportunities for my family.
  2. Simplify my life by focusing on three passion themes (Playing/Recording Music, Photography, Health & Fitness)
  3. Find a way to help/inspire others through Blogs, Vlogs, Websites, Music, Photos..ideally within the themes I am passionate about
 
Actions from Day 11:
 

1. Answer the following questions:

  • What you want to be different?
    • I would like to wake up excited to get started with “Work”.
  • Where you are unhappy right now?
    • I like the concept of the work I do, but am not passionate about the topics of transformation.  I enjoy helping people with visual management and designing of products/services.  I just don’t enjoy the transformation topics.  I want to get to the meat of doing the work.
  • What does a change means to you? Is it a full career change, a side project, starting a business, etc.? Be as specific as you can.
    • More and more this is feeling like I need to find a new business or start my own business.  I am just not sure what to focus on.
          • Music is challenging and I would say that I am an average player.  How will I stand out and why would people want to buy my music or music services?
      • Photography is a competitive field. Again, I feel I am currently “Average” with my skills as a photographer with a DSLR.  How can I be more creative?  Why would anyone want to buy my photos or my photography services?
      • Fitness…I am in ok shape…but, why would anyone want to buy my fitness services?
    • Job change—positions I look at are not appealing and I really don’t have an interest in the corporate world anymore.  
    • Maybe be my own consultant?  How would I do business development?
  • Now, compare these answers to your values, do they line up? If they don’t, rework until your change and your values are in alignment.
    • Hmmmm….
    • Family, Security, Experiences, Live Now
  • Why do you want to make this change? It is often helpful to have a reason greater than yourself. To make money is not as powerful as to give back to the world or so that I can be there to raise my children or to provide a good life for my family, etc.
    • To be closer to my kids as they grow up.
    • To continue to provide for my family
    • To be excited to do my work

2. Write down your newly defined mission statement. Writing it down (and reminding yourself daily—either written or aloud) is important for you to really believe and integrate this. Don’t worry, we will keep reminding you!

Don’t freak out! I know it sounds like a big deal to write out the purpose of your life but this will evolve as you evolve. It’s not permanent, so play with it until if feels genuine to you. Here are some guiding questions:

  • What do you want to be known for?
    • A great father and husband
  • What story do you want your great grandchildren to tell about you?
    • Hardworking, fun, willing to try new things, passionate about…..something
  • When you think about yourself on your deathbed, what do you want to be proud of?
    • My family
    • That I was really good at something
  • Who do you want to serve and help?
    • People looking for the beauty in life. (Music & Photos)
    • People trying to find their purpose.
    • People needing help with creating, improving or enjoying.
  • What impact do you want to have?
    • Help people create, improve and enjoy

You can use this basic process:

Step 1: Write down “I am here to (give back, shine bright, raise a family) ________.” and fill in the blank. Need some inspiration? Watch this video.

Step 2: Write down “I want to experience (love, freedom, joy—think of your values) ________.”

Step 3: Write down “I want to help (children, people find fulfillment, my community) ________.”

Step 4: Write down “The purpose of my life is (to give back, to live, to love) _______.”

Step 5: Now combine them all into the following template (or tweak as feels right to you).

The purpose of my life is to _________ and share _________ with _________.


The purpose of my life is to inspire others to create something, improve something and experience life.

About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Finding Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

