Day 15 – Getting the right people in your corner – Mentoring

I give myself permission to:

  1. Research and Experiment to find work that energizes me and allows me to provide great opportunities for my family.
  2. Simplify my life by focusing on three passion themes (Playing/Recording Music, Photography, Health & Fitness)
  3. Find a way to help/inspire others through Blogs, Vlogs, Websites, Music, Photos..ideally within the themes I am passionate about.

 

Day 15 Actions:

1. Write down your newly defined mission statement. Writing it down (and reminding yourself daily—either written or aloud) is important for you to really believe and integrate this. Don’t worry, we will keep reminding you!

See above

2. Whose opinions do you trust the most? Who do you look up to and hope to be like one day? Whom do you admire? Make a list of these people.

  • Jef O, Keith U, Jeff H, Brian T, Adam W, Andy L, Fred S, 

3. Look at the relationships that people have around you. Who are their mentors and advisers? Add these people to your list.

  • Not sure…I will reach out to the following people to find out who their mentors are:
  • Jeff H, Regina K, Jef O

4. Pick one or more of these people and send a short note or email letting them know the impact they’ve already had and the progress you’ve made thanks to them.

5. Who can you help? Think of an organization where you’re a more senior and experienced member or one of the people listed above and see how you can offer help. Make sure it leverages one of the skills you identified on Day 8. Maybe that place is at work, school or a volunteer group. Maybe your children or your children’s friends need some help. Reach out and pay it forward this week!

  • hmmmm…not sure what this would be.  How can I pay it forward?
  • 1:1 Life Design – Lean Life Coaching???  Maybe I could apply my skills in lean product development to a lean coaching model.  Interesting note…soon after I drafted this my close friend/mentor suggested a similar concept.

 

  • How to Start Coaching questions…
    • How do I start
    • What certifications would be necessary
    • How does one keep clients straight..without mixing up what their needs?
    • What could I charge for this?  What are customers willing to pay for?
    • How do I market this?  What inspirational content can I create and where can I post it to drive people to me?
    • What tax implications will this have for me?
  • Teaching How To Get Started With Guitar
    • Same questions
  • Music Recording
    • Same questions
  • Photography
    • Same questions
About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Finding Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

