Balance

I have had a revelation this week realizing that I am spending significant time receiving inputs.  News360, Feedly, Flipboard, Facebook, Linked-In, Twitter, Instagram, email, YouTube, online courses and now snap chat. Tons of input sources that are updated every few minutes with new content.  I need to do a better job managing this.

Getting back to three core elements for a balanced life.

 

Consumption – This is where a lot of my time goes when.  I feel I am growing at a tremendous rate but am still unfulfilled. It’s true that some of the consumption items is helping me in the other areas.

Emailing with Jef O, Online courses that are related to my passion areas…Innovation, Photography, Guitar, Mountain Biking/Fitness.

Connection – This is an area I’ve been trying to improve at.  Connecting with Alissa, Jacek and Tycen, Ryan, Ellen, Jef, my parents, my brother in-law and my sister.  The question is what is the best way to connect?

Creation – This is an area I am wanting to do more of.  Blogging, vlogging, music, photographs, action videos.  I need to find ways to do more of this.

 

So where do things like hiking, mountain biking, traveling…etc fit into the three C’s.  I feel there is an area missing….experiences.  I need to think of a word that starts with a C.  Or how about just being?  Other areas of my life that need time are being present and eliminating distractions.  I’d like to propose the following areas that need dedicated time.  In priority order…

  • Fuel
    • Healthy eating
  • Fitness
    • Movement
    • Exercise
  • Mindfullness
    • Meditation
    • Being Present
    • Being grateful
  • Minimalism
    • Continuous reduction of material items
    • Only allowing things into my life that align with my values and passions
  • Consumption
    • Learning foe awareness
    • Learning for growth
  • Connection
    • Wife
    • Family
    • Friends
    • Co-Workers
    • Inspiring People
    • God
  • Creation
    • Making items that will remain long after I move onto the next life

 

These all feel important but I also feel like there are too many.

I will spend more time over the coming weeks to build these areas into my routine so they are all equally balanced.

 

 

 

About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Finding Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

