5 Dimensions of Health

Working for IBM, they have a wellness program that focuses on the following 5 dimensions of Health.

img_1938

I thought it would be good to reflect on these 5 dimensions as a current state.

Physical:

Overall, I feel I am in ok health.  I am about 180lbs but according to my low cost scale, I am close to 24% body fat.  I am increasingly spending time on running and biking.  Biking because it is fun, running because it doesn’t require much gear.  In addition, I have challenged my self to complete a Sit-up, Push-Up and Squat Challenge.  I won’t complete it in the desired time frame, but I do plan to complete it.  100 Pushups, 100 Squats and 200 Situps.

Mind:

As an introvert, I find plenty of time to reflect.  I try to practice mindfulness at least once a day for between 2 and 10 minutes.  I use Calm for longer sessions.  And I use my Fitbit Charge 2 for the 2 minute sessions.  I am good at setting goals but can always improve at completing them.  I would say this blog has helped me in this category and has helped me gather my thoughts, however I haven’t had a break through yet in finding my purpose or passion.  I am closer, but I definitely can’t say that I have found it.

Financial:

I don’t like to talk much about financials, but in general, I have a good career with a good salary and have worked hard to have a comfortable savings while still enjoying life.

 

Social:

This is an area I feel I am lacking in.  I have friends and family.  I have one friend that I really connect with, however he lives in England which makes staying connected difficult.  I do wish I had a similar connection with someone here in the use nearby.  My close friends here seem to have drifted away.  I try to reach out, but it doesn’t seem to work.  I need to find my passions and a community to go with those passions.

I also have had issues were family members are distant as well.  I need to find ways to connect with family more…including my own family fast asleep in their bedrooms right now.  My fear is if I put 150% into them…what happens when they (my boys) move out?

Purpose:

Again, this is really the point of this blog…to find my purpose and my passions.  I continue to search.

 

I do like these 5 dimensions and can see how if each one of these were stable, that one would most likely be content and happy.  I will continue to strive to improve in each of these areas.

 

As I end this entry, I wonder…

  • What was the happiest I have been since the boys have been born (not counting their birth)?
  • What was the happiest I have been when it was just Alissa and I?
  • What was the happiest I have been before meeting Alissa?

I wonder at those times…what did my 5 dimensions of health look like.

 

 

 

About Troy

A Husband, Father, Lean Product Development Coach, Photographer, Musician.
This entry was posted in Finding Purpose, Mindfullness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

